MONTGOMERY COUNTY ESD 1 MONTGOMERY COUNTY, TEXAS

The Board of Commissioners of Montgomery County ESD 1, convened in SPECIAL session on August 26, 2022 with the following Board Members to-wit:

Members Present:	J. Steven Weisinger, President Chuck Frank, Vice President Sharene Carr, Treasurer
	David Cooper, Assistant Treasurer Tom Rozier, Secretary

Members Absent: None

The SPECIAL meeting of Montgomery County ESD 1 was called to order on August 26, 2022, at 9:01 A.M. by President J. Steven Weisinger. All members were present, therefore constituting a quorum. Also present were Fire Chief Jason Oliphant, Assistant Chief Shane Houser, Office Administrator Crystal LaCaze, Administrative Assistant Andrea Meek, Administrative Assistant Kayla Gibson, and Battalion Chief – Jeff McDonald.

A Public Hearing was held to allow each citizen the opportunity to address Montgomery County ESD 1 to express their concerns on the proposed tax rate. President J. Steven Weisinger opened the public hearing at 9:01 AM. No public offered comments on the tax rate. The hearing was closed at 9:08 A.M.

Addressing item 4 of the agenda, upon a motion made by Commissioner Carr and seconded by Commissioner Frank the board voted unanimously to adopt the District's FY 2022-2023 budget as presented.

Addressing item 5 of the agenda, Set by Order the 2022 Ad Valorem Tax Rate for Maintenance and Operations. Motion was made by Commissioner Cooper and seconded by Commissioner Frank to adopt the District 2022 Ad Valorem Tax Rate for Maintenance and Operations at the rate of \$0.0868/\$100. Motion was approved unanimously.

Addressing item 6 of the agenda, Set by Order the 2022 Ad Valorem Tax Rate for Debt Service. Motion was made by Commissioner Cooper and seconded by Commissioner Frank to adopt the District 2022 Ad Valorem Tax Rate for Debt Service at the rate of \$0.0085/\$100. Motion was approved unanimously.

A motion was made by Commissioner Cooper to Approve the Tax Order supplied by the Tax Assessor to adopt the District total 2022 Ad Valorem Tax Rate using the required statutory language: "I move that the property tax rate be increased by the adoption of a tax rate of \$0.0953/\$100, which is effectively a 19.13 percent increase in the tax rate." The motion was second by Commissioner Frank. The board voted unanimously in favor. The motion was approved by a vote of 5 to 0. The Order will be forwarded to the Tax Assessor. Commissioner Cooper would like noted in the minutes that the adopted tax rate is lower than last year's tax rate of \$0.1000/\$100.

There being no further business, upon a motion made by Commissioner Rozier and seconded by Commissioner Frank, the Board voted unanimously to adjourn at 9:17 A.M.

<u>Crystal LaCaze</u> District Office Manager and Administrative Secretary Montgomery County ESD 1